This is an archived copy - GENUKI/Devon is now here.   

GENUKI Home page upDevon ContentsContents & Search

Land Tax Commissioners' Names

London Gazette, 2 Jul 1886

Extracted by Beverley Edmonds

SCHEDULE of Names of Persons referred to in an Act of the forty-ninth and fiftieth years of Her present Majesty, intituled "An Act to appoint Additional Commissioners for executing the Acts for granting a Land Tax and other Rates and Taxes."


For the County of Devon

For the County of Devon. Richard Neland Watts, William Hawkes, George Theodotus Rolston, Samuel Hatchings, George Stear Bunce, John Perry, Richard Brewer Welch, Edwin Alfred Boolds, Orlando Jollife, Arthur BrichwoodHutchings, all of .the Parish of Stoke Damerel, Robert James Preston Whyte, Leigh House, Chulmleigh, Devon, Esquire, John Froude Bellew, Rhyll, East Anstey, Devon, Esquire, John Law, Hudscott, Chittlehampton, Devon, M.D., John Cobley, Bealy Court, Chulmleigh, Devon, Gentleman, Frederick King, Vicarage, South Molton,. Devon, Clerk in Holy Orders, George Potter Blake, Seaton, Charles Glyn Prideaux Brune, Nethertou, Farway, George Evans, Seaton, William Edmonds, Wiscombe Park, South Leigh, Alfred Elton, Clerk, Widworthy Court, Widworthy, Sir Win. Edmund de la Pole, Baronet, Shute, Piney John Richardson, Clerk, Seaton, John Impey Scarbrough, Colyford, Colyton, Elijah Impey Scarbrough, Colyton, Harold Webb, Colyton, Samuel Price of Bow, Devon, Tanner, William Snell of North Tawton, Devon, Gentleman.

Last updated 17 Apr 2009 - Brian Randell.

Return to top of page

Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future.